Skip to main content

STRS Election - April 2009

                                                                                                            April 6, 2009
To All CHTU Members:                                                                       
The Ohio Federation of Teachers launched a joint campaign with the Ohio Education Association to elect three members to the State Teachers Retirement System Board - one representing active teachers and two representing retirees. OFT and OEA have jointly endorsed David Preslan and James McGreevy for the two retiree seats, and Carol Correthers for the active seat up for election this year.
Ballots will be mailed to active and retiree teachers at the beginning of April and all ballots must be returned to STRS before May 4. 
          Active teachers will see only the names of candidates for the active seat on their ballots - vote for Carol Correthers.
Preslan, McGreevy and Correthers bring the leadership and experience needed to serve teachers well on the STRS Board. Preslan, McGreevy and Correthers are committed to secure pensions and access to affordable health care.
Carol Correthers is a special education teacher in Lorain City Schools. She is in her 11th year of teaching and has been very involved in the work of the OEA, where she now serves on its Board of Directors. In order to further prepare for the responsibilities of being on the STRS Board, she is taking rigorous course work in pension and health care issues through the International Foundation of Employee Benefit Plans. As an STRS Board member, Correthers will dedicate herself to protecting pension benefits and maintaining access to affordable health care for current and future retirees.
Both OFT and OEA officers and leaders screened candidates seeking election to the Board and endorsed Preslan, McGreevy and Correthers as the best qualified to represent members.
Vote for Carol Correthers when you receive your STRS ballot in the mail.  Be sure to cast your vote by returning the ballot before the May 4 deadline.
Tom Schmida, President

Share This